Week 1 Summary & Meal Kit Comparison

For the October Cooking Challenge, we wanted to do a comparison between what we offer, and the meal kit companies out there. We are all busy, my household is no exception, and we need help! So I laid out some ground rules, and got to work. Looking for recipes and planning out my basket, then making a shopping list literally took me around 45 minutes. Here are the recipes I made:

Meal 1 – Sweet Potato and Chard Calzones, with a salad

Meal 2 – Tandoori Chicken with Spaghetti Squash and Green Beans

BONUS Meal – Vegetable Lo Mein

BONUS Meal – Vegetable Lo Mein Lettuce Wraps (the other option was a soup)

BONUS – Veggie Stock

What was left over from my delivery?

4oz of Atwells Gold Cheese (saving for a quiche)

1 bulb of Garlic (will keep)

img_3934

Value Comparison

week-1-value

Sustainability

sustainability-1

Let’s Be Honest. How Much Time Did it Take?

It took me about 45 minutes to take the list of basket contents, and formulate a plan with recipes, and I looked online to make sure my ‘add-ons’ were within budget.

The few extra items I needed from the store, I got when I was going for something else.

In other words, I did not feel like it was a massive time investment. What took the most amount of time this week (and was the most fun), was photographing my food!

Summary

The food was good. Not cordon-bleu-five-star-dining good, but tasty and satisfying.

Breaking down the delivery into meals at the beginning of the week, choosing recipes, and sourcing the extras, was very, very helpful. Usually I just wing it. I am versatile enough of a cook to get away with it. But the ‘what’s for dinner tonight’ scramble is no fun whether you are versatile or not, and I found that I had a much better handle on our meals. It was nice not to scramble. And I spent less money.

Check in tomorrow for this week’s plan.

One thought on “Week 1 Summary & Meal Kit Comparison

Leave a Reply

